Sign up for the Island Records Email Newsletter

By selecting submit you agree to the Universal Music Group Privacy Policy.

* Indicates Required Field

16 Sep

The Killers Announce “Direct Hits” Set For November 11th!

DIRECT HITS– The Album – November 11th, 2013 (Island Records)

Features tracks from The Killers’ Four Incredible Albums, Plus Two Brand New Songs

“SHOT AT THE NIGHT” – First Single

Produced by M83, Already One of the Most Anticipated Collaborations of the Year!

(New York, NY –September 16, 2013)Ten years ago today, on September 16th, 2003, four young men from Las Vegas left America for the first time to play their first ever London show, appearing fourth on the bill at Camden’s Dublin Castle. It was the first time they had played a gig outside of North America.

Fast forward to 2013, that band –The Killers– has gone on to sell over 20 million albums worldwide, headlined festivals across the globe, performed at The White House, and picked up myriad awards. Each ofThe Killers’ four studio albums has yielded some of the most amazing songs of the last decade, and, this summer, amidst various festival headlining shows all over the world, they reached a summit very few artists have ever managed: headlining Wembley Stadium to an ecstatic capacity crowd of 70,000. These shows – from their masterful showing headlining this year’s Lollapalooza to their crowning achievement commanding the stage at Wembley – reaffirmed what millions everywhere already know:The Killershave released some of the finest, most memorable, most loved songs of the last ten years, and they’re still going strong.

In celebration of their first decade together,The Killerswill release Direct Hits on November 11th, 2013 on Island Records. A collection of singles from their four albums, plus two brand new songs, the album begins with the band’s breakthrough hit – and first song they wrote together – “Mr Brightside.” It follows the group from debut albumHot Fussand its further singles, “Somebody Told Me,” “Smile Like You Mean It,” and “All These Things That I’ve Done,” throughSam’s Town’s“When You Were Young,” “Read My Mind,” and “For Reasons Unknown,” viaDay & Age’ssingles, including massive 2008 hit, “Human,” and last year’s stunningBattle Bornalbum singles, kicking off with “Runaways.” A brace of brand new songs completes the set: “Shot At The Night” was recorded withM83’s Anthony Gonzales, and will be released as a singleTOMORROW, September 17thvia iTunes. The video for the song was directed byRobert Schoberand was shot entirely in Las Vegas. “Just Another Girl,” meanwhile, was produced by long timeKillerscollaboratorStuart Price,who produced 2008’sDay & Age.

The Killershave also prepared a special Fan Deluxe Edition that will contain the Deluxe CD, a documentary DVD ofThe Killerscareer, as well as 5 10- inch vinyl records comprising all songs onDirect Hits.

The deluxe edition of Direct Hits will additionally feature the original demo of “Mr Brightside” and a new remix of “When You Were Young” byCalvin Harris, as well as Battle Born’s “Be Still.” Full tracklisting is as follows:

1. Mr Brightside

2. Somebody Told Me

3. Smile Like You Mean It

4. All These Things That I’ve Done

5. When You Were Young

6. Read My Mind

7. For Reasons Unknown

8. Human

9. Spaceman

10. A Dustland Fairytale

11. Runaways

12. Miss Atomic Bomb

13. The Way It Was

14. Shot At The Night

15.Just Another Girl

(Deluxe Version Also Includes)

16. Mr. Brightside (Original Demo)

17. When You Were Young (Calvin Harris Remix)

18. Be Still

(And a never-before-seen Killers Documentary DVD)